Sadda.ru Ironetcart Андроид Ассемблер MASM32 Linux Все статьи Table of Contents


 

Negative numbers

  Max Petrov May 2013

      A positive number designates a count, this is the quantity of items or the counting number of the item, which cannot be said about the negative number. A negative number, strictly speaking, does not have any numerical meaning, it rather symbolizes a future action. A negative number shows that in the future from the newly appeared items we should subtract a few ones.

      The logical and elegant solution is to represent negative numbers in the form of empty cells. Suppose that there is a set of counting sticks, and it is known the standard number of sticks in the set. After execution of any actions over this set, the remaining sticks in the set will denote a positive number, empty cells will denote a negative number. It is easy to see that with such an approach, any number of sticks in the set symbolizes two numbers at once, both positive and negative. Depending on our agreement, one of these numbers will be explicit, the other implicit.

negative numbers

      The numerical multitude of our set looks unusual, because it has two zeros (Fig.1). Suppose that for our set of countable sticks is fulfilled the following condition: with the maximum number of sticks in the set they disappear, that is, the maximum number of sticks is zero. Then the multitude of numbers, that can display a set, is convenient to represent in form of a ring (Fig.2).

      Just like this the processor sees the numbers, which is easy to verify. For example, we will subtract in a cycle from the byte variable a one in each step. When the value of the variable reaches zero, by the next subtraction we will receive in a variable the value of 255. This is the maximum number that can be written to a byte. By successive subtraction, the number 255 again will be reduced to zero, when we subtract one from zero, we again get 255. This will continue for as long as we want, until we stop the program.

      This principle of work with numbers is in good agreement with the characteristics of computers. The cells (bytes, words, double words, etc.), in which the computer stores the numbers, are finites. In addition, such a principle ensures easy execution of arithmetic operations. For example, the subtraction can be replaced by an addition, if you invert the substracted number. For a byte, i.e. for a set of 256 counting sticks (256 is zero):
      10 - 1 = 10 + 255 = 9
The solution will be 265, but 256 of them should disappear (256 is a unit in the next byte), but 9 will remain. Thus, the computer will receive the correct result.

      Call such a representation of negative numbers by inversion with a complement, that is, to obtain a representation of a negative number, the bits of a compatible with it positive number are inverted, and to the result the one is added. The one is added because the maximum number in the set, in application to the memory cells in the computer, it is convenient to suppose the first number which does not fit in the cell. When this number is reached, zero is obtained automatically and the count starts again.

     


Send a comment

E-mail:
*


Insert the digits:



Table of Contents

Assembler MASM32

      The simplest assembly program (beeper)
      Variables and Data Types of Assembler
      Registers of Processor IA32
      Numerical Systems, conversion of number
      Negative numbers

Other articles

      Frontend protection against Stored XSS Attacks (Javascript kills XSS)
      How to enforce Firefox to update favicon
      How to lock CD autorun in Windows XP
      Javascript Progress Bar for PHP program
      Schultz's tables (Shultzstables.exe)
      Speed of Forum Engine. Files or Database
      The best free programs for reading txt-files on Android smartphones
      Why a stupid forum needs a search option?

     


© Max Petrov При использовании материалов ссылка на sadda.ru обязательна

Sadda.ru Ironetcart Андроид Ассемблер MASM32 Linux Все статьи Table of Contents


 

Отрицательные числа

  Макс Петров май 2013

      Представление отрицательных чисел в вычислительных машинах встречает определенные трудности. Положительное число обозначает счет - количество предметов или порядковый номер предмета, чего нельзя сказать об отрицательном числе. Отрицательное число, строго говоря, не имеет числового смысла, как такового, оно символизирует, скорее, будущее действие - то, что в дальнейшем из вновь появившихся у нас предметов мы должны будет вычесть еще несколько.

      Логичное и изящное решение состоит в том, чтобы отрицательные числа сопоставить с пустыми ячейками в чем-либо. Допустим, есть набор счетных палочек, стандартное число палочек в наборе известно. Тогда, после совершения каких-либо действий над этим набором оставшиеся в наборе палочки будут обозначать положительное число, пустые ячейки - отрицательное число. Легко видеть, что при таком подходе любое количество палочек в наборе символизирует сразу два числа - и положительное, и отрицательное. В зависимости от того, как мы условимся, одно из этих чисел будет явным, другое - предполагаемым.

отрицательные числа в компьютере

      Числовое множество нашего набора выглядит необычно, поскольку имеет два нуля (рис.1). Пусть для нашего набора счетных палочек выполняется условие: при максимальном числе палочек в наборе они исчезают, то есть максимальное число палочек равно нулю. Тогда множество чисел, которое может отображать набор, удобно представить в виде кольца (рис.2).

      Именно так видит числа процессор, в чем несложно убедиться. Например, будем вычитать в цикле из байтовой переменной на каждом шаге единицу. Когда значение переменной достигнет нуля, следующим вычитанием мы получим в переменной значение 255 - максимальное число, которое может быть записано в байт. Последовательным вычитанием число 255 опять будет уменьшено до нуля, при вычитании из нуля единицы снова получим 255, и так будет продолжаться сколь угодно долго, если мы не остановим программу.

      Подобный принцип работы с числами хорошо согласуется с особенностями вычислительных машин. Ячейки (байты, слова, двойные слова и т.д.), в которых компьютер хранит числа - конечны. Кроме того, подобный принцип обеспечивает легкое выполнение арифметических операций - вычитание можно заменить сложением, если инвертировать вычитаемое число. Например, для байта, т.е. набора в 256 счетных палочек (256 равно нулю):
      10 - 1 = 10 + 255 = 9
Вообще, решением будет 265, но из них 256 должны исчезнуть (256 - это единица в следующем байте), а 9 останется, то есть компьютер получит правильный результат.

      Называют такое представление отрицательных чисел инверсией с дополнением, то есть для получения представления отрицательного числа биты совместимого с ним положительного числа инвертируются, а к результату добавляется единица. Единицу добавляют затем, что максимальным числом в наборе, применительно к ячейкам памяти в компьютере, удобно считать первое число, которое не помещается в ячейке, тогда при достижении этого числа ноль получается автоматически и счет начинается сначала.

     


Добавить комментарий

E-mail:
*


Контрольные цифры:



Ассемблер MASM32

      Простейшая программа на ассемблере (beeper)
      Переменные и типы данных ассемблера
      Регистры процессора IA32
      Консоль ввода-вывода
      API-функция CharToOem и строки ассемблера
      API-функция ReadConsoleInput
      API-функция PeekConsoleInput
      События консоли (таблица)
      Системы счисления, тэги ассемблера, перевод чисел
      Отрицательные числа
      Инкремент и декремент
      Деление (DIV, IDIV)
      VKDEBUG
      Макросы ассемблера
      Воспоминание об Альгамбре на системном динамике
      Командная строка
      Пузырьковая сортировка. Эстафета шариков
      Сортировка расческой
      Быстрая сортировка

     


© Max Petrov При использовании материалов ссылка на sadda.ru обязательна