Sadda.ru Ironetcart Андроид Ассемблер MASM32 Linux Все статьи Table of Contents


 

Speed of Forum Engine. Files or Database

  Max Petrov December 2014

      This part of the computer, the hard disk, has a smaller speed than the processor. Therefore, the time of execution of any program which makes a little amount of calculations, but which intensively works with the files, is limited not by electronics, it is limited by mechanics. That are the motor and gears of the hard disk.

      The number of requests to the disk is critical. Each request causes the positioning of the hard drive head, because firstly the file should be found, and only after that it can be read. This positioning is the slowest operation, and just the number of requests to the hard disk, ultimately, defines the speed of execution of file-intensive program. The way to optimize file-intensive programs is well known, it is to reduce the number of requests to disk, and to get in each request more information from the disk. In other words, if you read a large file at one time, then parse this file byte by byte on the processor, it will take more less time, then you read the file from the hard disk byte by byte.

      To answer the question what is faster, a forum on flat files or a forum on the database, you need to estimate the number of requests to the hard disk in each of these variants of forum implementation. That forum would be a champion by its speed, which for generation of one page would address the hard disk only one time.

      The database is arranged in such a way that a lot of information is written into one file. This file (table) can be of very big size (gigabytes), so that with each request it becomes unprofitable to read the entire table. Therefore, in databases, it is forcedly used the slow and non-optimal way of reading of the hard disk - at a certain place of the table are written the indexes (addresses) of data and rules for it, the requested data is read by repositioning of the head of the hard drive according to the indexes. To obtain each piece of information from the database, several repositions of the head of hard drive are always needed. The forum database contains several tables, for example, a table with messages and a table with user statistics. In order to extract data and create one post in the form in which it will be transferred to the reader, it may require about a dozen repositions of the head of hard disk.

      It is necessary to remember that the database maintains its own logs, which inevitably multiply the total number of operations with file at each access to the database.

      A forum or a site, which writes the information into flat files (the files are situated directly in the forum folder on the server) can access the hard disk directly. In this case there is no alien's pointers between the scripts and the information on the hard drive. The site on flat files does not cause any excessive redirections on the hard disk. With the rational organization of data storage, the site or the forum on flat files requires about ten times the less number of movements of rocker of hard disk during the return of the pages to users, it also provides about a tenfold advantage in speed, in comparison with sites or forums which use the databases.

      At least, there are three Russian forum engines working on flat files: EXBB (now in utf-8), WR-forum, and forum was made by me - Ironetcart (win-1251).



Table of Contents

Assembler MASM32

      The simplest assembly program (beeper)
      Variables and Data Types of Assembler
      Registers of Processor IA32
      Numerical Systems, conversion of number
      Negative numbers

Other articles

      Frontend protection against Stored XSS Attacks (Javascript kills XSS)
      How to enforce Firefox to update favicon
      How to lock CD autorun in Windows XP
      Javascript Progress Bar for PHP program
      Schultz's tables (Shultzstables.exe)
      Speed of Forum Engine. Files or Database
      The best free programs for reading txt-files on Android smartphones
      Why a stupid forum needs a search option?

     


© Max Petrov При использовании материалов ссылка на sadda.ru обязательна

Sadda.ru Ironetcart Андроид Ассемблер MASM32 Linux Все статьи Table of Contents


 

Скорость движка форума: файлы или база данных

  Макс Петров Декабрь 2014

      Как бы производители не усовершенствовали винчестеры, эта часть компьютера - жесткий диск - проигрывает в быстроте процессору. Поэтому, время выполнения любой маловычисляющей, но интенсивно работающей с файлами программы, какой и является сайт или форум, лимитируется не электроникой, а механикой, то есть моторчиком и шестеренками жесткого диска.

      Критичным является даже не число считываемых байт вообще, а число запросов к диску. Каждый запрос вызывает позиционирование головки винчестера, ведь файл сначала надо найти, только затем его можно будет прочитать. Эта операция - "бзиканье" коромыслом в винчестере - является самой медленной и именно числом запросов к жесткому диску, в конечном итоге, определится скорость выполнения файлоемкой программы. Способ оптимизации файлоемких программ известен, он состоит в том, что само число запросов к диску уменьшают, но в каждом запросе требуют от диска больше информации. Другими словами, если считать большой файл за один раз, затем побайтно этот файл разобрать уже на процессоре, это займет в десятки и даже сотни раз меньше времени, чем вычитывать файл с жесткого диска побайтно.

      Чтобы ответить на вопрос, что быстрее, форум "на файлах" или форум на базе данных, нужно просто оценить число обращений к диску в каждом из этих вариантов реализации форума. Чемпионским по быстроте форумом был бы такой, который для генерации одной страницы обращался бы к жесткому диску только один раз.

      База данных устроена таким образом, что множество однородной информации записывается в один файл. Этот файл (таблица) может иметь весьма большие размеры (гигабайты), так что при каждом запросе считывать всю таблицу становится уже невыгодным. Поэтому, в базах данных вынужденно используется медленный и неоптимальный способ чтения жесткого диска - в определенном месте таблицы записаны указатели (адреса) данных и правил для них, считывание запрашиваемых данных происходит путем перепозиционирования головки винчестера по указателям. Для получения каждой порции информации данных из базы данных всегда необходимо несколько позиционирований головки винчестера. Применительно к форуму, база данных будет содержать уже несколько таблиц, например, таблицу с сообщениями и таблицу со статистиками пользователей. При этом, для извлечения данных и формирования одного поста в том виде, как он будет отдан читателю форума (сообщение + статистика пользователя) может потребоваться около десятка позиционирований головки жесткого диска.

      Необходимо также помнить, что база данных ведет собственные логи, что неизбежно множит итоговое число файловых операций при каждом обращении к базе.

      С другой стороны, форум или сайт, работающий "на файлах", может обращаться к жесткому диску напрямую. "Прокладок" в виде указателей-таблиц между сайтом и конечной информацией на жестком диске при этом нет, излишних переадресаций по винчестеру, связанных с поиском данных, сайт "на файлах", в принципе, не вызывает. При рациональной организации хранения данных, сайт или форум "на файлах" требует примерно в десять раз меньшего числа движений коромыслом винчестера при отдаче пользователям страниц, что обеспечивает также и примерно десятикратное преимущество в скорости, по сравнению с сайтами или форумами на базе данных.



Ironetcart

      Техническая поддержка: http://ironburattin.ru
      Взять движок: Форум на файлах «Ironetcart» (скачать)

      Разработка форумного движка
      Форум «Железный Бураттин» (название и концепция)
      Статическая защита форм
      Идеальная капча
      Как я победил магические кавычки
      Внеклавиатурные символы HTML
      Хранимые XSS-атаки и защита от них (удаляем javascript из html в браузере)
      Защита визуального html-редактора (фильтрация HTML на стороне сервера)
      Скорость движка форума: файлы или база данных
      Прогресс-бар на PHP
      Зачем тупому форуму поиск?

     


© Max Petrov При использовании материалов ссылка на sadda.ru обязательна